ESL Activity: Five Things I Do – The American Version

For this week’s assignment, my students were to write about five things that they like about America. I try to keep these assignments fairly broad as to accommodate a wide range of writable topics and my students’ levels of English. Once again, read on for my take on the assignment.

First, I want to list the five things that I do like about America. One of my favorite things about America is the East Coast. Growing up in Pittsburgh, we don’t really define ourselves as being on the East Coast or in the Mid-West. However, I think that the East Coast has a variety of some of my favorite cities that are relatively close! This brings me to the second aspect of America that I like: Washington, D.C.

Thomas Jefferson Memorial and Cherry Blossoms, 2014
Thomas Jefferson Memorial and Cherry Blossoms, 2014

I had the opportunity to live, study, and work in D.C. during the spring semester of 2014. I think that D.C. has a lot to offer and the city is always exciting! Other than the East Coast and Washington, I also enjoy the convenience of America. Everything is open all the time and you can get practically anything anywhere! Referring back to my mention of Pittsburgh, it also ranks in one of my five favorite things about America.

Downtown Pittsburgh from Mt. Washington, 2013
Downtown Pittsburgh from Mt. Washington, 2013

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania is where my entire family is from. My entire life has been anchored in this city and I have loved every minute of it. I believe that Pittsburgh has so much to offer. We have several top universities, the art and music scene is unreal, and the economic opportunities for tech and film are always surprising me. Each neighborhood of Pittsburgh is unique and exciting. This brings me to the last thing that I like about America: variety. America is such a big country with many diverse areas. I think that this diversity allows for many different people to live here. No matter where you go in America, there is always someone new to meet experiencing and engaging in a different culture.

Leave a Reply

