ESL Activity: Five Places I’ve Been

This week’s assignment focuses on travel. I asked the students to write about any five things they wanted on the topic. So for my rendition, I’m going to talk about five places that I’ve been to.

I have had the opportunity to study abroad for two semesters in college; and, I studied in D.C. for a semester. I travel a lot and I love to do it. There’s something so exciting about getting somewhere you’ve always wanted to go. Therefore, the five places I’m going to talk about are Paris, D.C., Madrid, Santorini, and Athens.

The Eiffel Tower at Night from Trocadero, 2013
The Eiffel Tower at Night from Trocadero, 2013

Paris is one of the most beautiful cities in the world. I have always had a fascination with it. And now that I’ve visited, I don’t think my feelings will ever change! Paris is a classic, and it always will be!

The Jefferson Memorial, 2013
The Jefferson Memorial, 2013

Like I’ve talked about before, D.C. will also always hold a special place in my heart. It’s a fun city, and I love the culture of it.

View from the Apartment in Chueca, 2013
View from the Apartment in Chueca, 2013

Madrid was the second host of my study abroad experience. It was the first time that I had ever been in Spain. Once I got used to the accent and the long days (and nights), Madrid became a totally different experience than Paris was. People always ask me which city I prefer, but honestly they’re not at a level to compare.

Santorini, 2013
Santorini, 2013

Next up, Santorini. I don’t think I really need to say anything about it. Because, clearly, it’s Santorini.

Colleen and I at the First Modern Olympic Stadium, 2013
Colleen and I at the First Modern Olympic Stadium, 2013

Lastly, Athens was another dream come true for me. I was able to live out some of my academic fantasies finally touring the ancient temples and ruins that Athens had to offer. Not to mention, the people and culture of Greece are amazing. Everyone is so friendly and welcoming. I never felt foreign there!

Leave a Reply

