Traditions and Reflections

Every year my family and I watch White Christmas together on Christmas Eve. This year, after watching the film, I’m not sad because I’m not with family.

While I am “alone” this holiday season, I still kept with my Christmas Eve tradition: watching White Christmas. Shoutout to Netflix for having it on their site here in France. I guess I would expect to be in a sad mood for not being with family and watching it. But, that’s not the case this year, again.

After watching the film, I reflected for a moment on what my life was like a year ago. That got to me more than I thought it would. A lot can change in a short year. I would be lying if I said I didn’t miss what my life was like then. But time doesn’t exactly stop, and you have to move on. I have a feeling that holiday seasons to come will always seem a bit odd.

One thing for certain is that I have great friends. No matter where I happen to be in the world, they always pull through. I was absolutely touched when I received a small package from a friend back in Pittsburgh. That small, light-weight rectangle really contained more than anything four or five times it weight could have.

Not to mention, the friends I’ve made this time around in France completely surprised me. Not only was I given a gift, but it was one of the most thoughtful gifts I’ve ever received. Ever.

All of this really puts into perspective how it doesn’t matter the exact circumstances of where you are in life. Last year, I thought I was the happiest I could be. This year, I’m happier in a very different way. It all depends on the situations you put yourself in, and your point of view.

I’m very grateful this holiday season for realizing this. I’m grateful for a lot this holiday season, just like last year. However, this year, exactly what I’m grateful for is, like I said, different.

I expect to be sappy up until about a week or two after my birthday. You can’t really blame me though.

Final note: I’ve decided on a new Christmas Eve tradition for myself. Watching every Glee Christmas episode.

Leave a Reply

