Cannes_4_20160405_10

A Whirlwind Update

I realise now that I’ve neglected this blog for quite some time. Now that I’m about to wrap up my time in the #06, I feel the need to revisit this messy corner of the Internet.

I said my first goodbye last night. I think it really hit me that it wasn’t just a “goodbye see you after the holiday” situation. It’s really time to leave.

Like I previously stated, I haven’t posted here (outside of a couple scheduled posts from my photography blog) in a long time. Like, I haven’t written an update on my life and TAPIF since…2015. Oops.

Regardless of that, this year has been nothing like I imagined. While that applies to TAPIF in general, I’m being cliché and basic in a different sense; I’m just referring to 2016. Time has truly flown by and I’ll be back in America within the next week and a half.

I started my 23rd year in January (jokingly I’m 46 to my friends). I mean bless the fact that I have been vlogging weekly this whole year because outside of my birthday, I can’t really think back to what happened during that month. A lot of blasé work and chill weekends defined 01/2016 from what I can currently recollect. I’m pretty sure that “the couch” became a thing in my vlogs during January.

When Hannah came to visit in February, I couldn’t contain my excitement. We had the opportunity to run around Paris, where I live now, and then jet off to Italy’s Cinque Terre. It was such a relaxing time of just being around someone who’s known you for so long. I was sad to send her off at the end of the February holiday when she continued on her European adventure and I went back to work. I remember work being so mundane and even the students couldn’t see the light at the end of the tunnel. Even though there wasn’t a single flake of snow on the coast, it was very reminiscent of February’s back home in Pittsburgh.

The #06 truly came alive again in March. Comfortable hiking weather, the last of good skiing conditions, and the return of conventions to the Palais des Festivals brought back a renewed desire to be active. So much happened in this month that I don’t even remember it all as happening in a month; it just happened in an unfathomable time frame. If that makes like any sense at all (yikes).

Now we’re at the homestretch. April has been beautiful and everyday reminds me so much of how I felt back in my very first days in September. The beaches are alive, people exude more joy, and I don’t want to go home.

But I do.

But I don’t.

Cannes has become my home. The region has become my playground. My colleagues have become friends who have even become family. I’ve built a network here and it’s going to be stretched out all over the world yet again. As much as I am looking forward to returning to Pittsburgh, seeing old friends, and having another great summer in the city, I don’t want to leave everything I’ve built upon here.

But that’s how it goes.

I did it in Paris. I did it in Madrid. I did it in DC. I did it in Pittsburgh. And I’ll do it again. You create experiences and relationships that you hope stand the test of “long distance.” If you do it right, you have nothing to worry about.

It’s an exciting time and I’m looking forward to what the summer holds for me. I’m looking forward to making the most of my last days of work and life here in Cannes (or the Côte d’Azur, or the French Riviera, or the Alpes-Maritimes, or the 06, or PACA, or the South of France; whatever you want to call it.)

Leave a Reply

